orlandooomdotcom


PRIMATE and WHORES To Assault Will’s Pub 9/27! by orlandooom407

So, my favorite band based out of Atlanta, and one of my all time favorite live acts Whores are hitting the road again this fall. They will be gracing us here in Orlando with their presence on Tuesday, September 27th at Will’s Pub. Now, without sounding like a total fanboy…bah! Who am I kidding? I am a total fanboy. I freaking love this band. Now, you all well know that we here at Orlandooom.com pride ourselves on our metal. Whores are not a metal band. They are a “screw your brain right out of your skull through one ear, and out the other with blistering rock ‘n roll” band. Are they heavy? You bet your ass they are!

I would argue they are heavier than 99% of metal bands that are active today. Their EP Ruiner is an absolute force to be reckoned with. As great as Ruiner is, and as much as I spin it, nothing compares to Whores live. The level of ferocity Whores pummel an audience with whilst onstage simply can’t be captured in a studio, or on  video. There’s only one way to get that feeling, and that’s to get off your ass, and go see them. Trust me, you’ll be a better person for it. The first time I saw Whores, I had honestly never heard them. I was utterly blown away, and immediately hooked. It’s extremely rare for me that a band I literally know nothing about captures me with their live show, and make a fan for life out of me. Whores did exactly that. Their tour dates, and bandcamp link are listed below.

On select dates on Whores’ fall tour, they’ll be sharing the stage with Primate. For those of you that don’t know Primate consists of three members of The Despised; Shayne Huff behind the kit, Dave Whitworth holding down the low end and backing vocals.  Also on guitar is some guy named Bill Kelliher from some band called Mastodon, or something like that? Anyone ever heard of them? In all seriousness: rounding out their lineup on vocal duties is none other than Kevin Sharp from Brutal Truth, Venemous Concept, and Decibel Magazine. I couldn’t be more excited to see this powerhouse of sludgy grind. I hope to see you all there as well.

Sep 11 Fest/Jimbo’s Charleston, SC
Sep 23 New Brookland Tavern West Columbia, SC
Sep 24 Nightlight Chapel Hill, NC
Sep 25 Reggie’s Wilmington, NC
Sep 26 The Jinx w/ Primate Savannah, GA
Sep 27 Will’s Pub w/Primate Orlando, FL
Sep 28 Churchill’s w/ Primate Miami, FL
Sep 29 The Orpheum w/Primate Tampa, FL
Oct 01 The Atlantic Gainesville, FL
Oct 28 The Drunken Unicorn w/Black Tusk Atlanta, GA

Whores on Bandcamp

Click here for the Facebook Event

– Ryan Oates Pemberton